Raspberry Buttermilk Cake

June 9, 2010 at 11:23 pm (baking)

Originally from Smitten Kitchen.

This cake is great for afternoon tea…or, you know, all the time. Yum.

You’ll need:

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened
2/3 cup plus 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar, divided
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest (optional)
1 large egg
1/2 cup well-shaken buttermilk
1 cup fresh raspberries

002

I didn’t have unsalted butter, so I used salted and reduced the amount of salt I added. I also didn’t have buttermilk, so I put about a tablespoon of lemon juice in my half-cup of regular milk. By the time I needed it, it was all curdled and disgusting-looking, which is exactly what you want. (If you don’t have lemon juice, you can also use vinegar.) And finally, if you have nice plump fresh raspberries, use those, but if you, like me, have sad little raspberries that were hidden under the good ones by dishonest fruit stand owners…this is as good a way as any to use them up!

Preheat your oven to 400°F. Get a 9-inch round cake pan ready in whichever method you prefer.

Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in one bowl. In a larger bowl, cream the butter with the 2/3 cup of sugar.

003

Add vanilla, lemon zest, and egg.

005

Add flour in three batches, alternating with the buttermilk.

007

Smooth the batter into the pan and sprinkle raspberries over everything. (They’ll sink, I promise.) Sprinkle the 1.5 tablespoons of sugar over that. (I’m not kidding, either. The sugar sprinkle is crucial.)

010

011

Bake for 20-25 minutes.

014

015

Printable:

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened
2/3 cup plus 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar, divided
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest (optional)
1 large egg
1/2 cup well-shaken buttermilk
1 cup fresh raspberries

Preheat your oven to 400°F. Get a 9-inch round cake pan ready in whichever method you prefer.

Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in one bowl. In a larger bowl, cream the butter with the 2/3 cup of sugar.

Add vanilla, lemon zest, and egg.

Add flour in three batches, alternating with the buttermilk.

Smooth the batter into the pan and sprinkle raspberries over everything. (They’ll sink, I promise.) Sprinkle the 1.5 tablespoons of sugar over that. (I’m not kidding, either. The sugar sprinkle is crucial.)

Bake for 20-25 minutes.

2 Comments

  1. !Legato said,

    Hmm. I should get me some of those useful looking baking supply containers. I got a few pretty ones from Ikea to hold my chocolate chips and sit out on my counter, but I think something more useful to make my pantry a little more organized might be in order…

    • smalltable said,

      I think I just got them from the grocery store. They’re pretty good, although I occasionally poof out too much flour!

      We should have a baking party one day. Although I don’t think either of our kitchens will comfortably accommodate two people, really.

Leave a Reply

